Poetry Friday: Macaronic Verse

This is a cross posting from “Check It Out”, my school blog.

I have been making a better attempt at participating in the “Poetry Stretch” each week. This week it is macaronic verse. At first I thought, no way. Then two phrases came to me: “pourquoi” and “je ne sais pas pourquoi”. Then I decided to work it into a pantuom (you know I am addicted to the form!)

Pourquoi

Pourquoi is the moon full of cheese?
Je ne sais pas pourquoi bleu cheese
Pourquoi do stars fall?
Je ne sais pas pourquoi wishes come true

Je ne sais pas pourquoi bleu cheese
Pourquoi did the dish run away with the spoon?
Je ne sais pas pourquoi wishes come true
Pourquoi did the cat meow?

Pourqoui did the dish run away with the spoon?
Je ne sais pas pourquoi the spoon loved the dish
Pourquoi did the cat meowed
Je ne sais pas pourquoi she giggled

.
Je ne sais pas pourquoi the spoon loved the dish
Pourquoi did the chien bark?
Je ne sais pas pourquoi she giggled
Pourquoi does the moon wax and wane?

.
Pourquoi did the chien bark?
Pourquoi do stars fall?
Pourquoi does the moon wax and wane?
Pourquoi is the moon full of cheese?

I am amazed how the last verse turned out…all beginning with ‘pourquoi”. Thanks, Tricia for the challenge. Karen is rounding up poetry today.

This entry was posted in Pantoums, Poetry, Poetry Friday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.