Read, Write, Poem: First Lines

Rediscovered this great site with weekly poetry prompts.  This week:”leave a first line and borrow a first line”.

This is funny, Dave commented on an earlier post and said he was using my first line. This morning, I decided to tackle the prompt (last minute).  Randomly chose a first line and whose did I choose? Yep, Dave. So thank you. 

Then Gautami’s first line grabbed me as well.

So a haiku and a pantuom:

through rough patchwork fields
two lizards crawled their way home
hawk spied minute dots

Thank you, Dave

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

that word you lost I found it under a rock
“solace” sketched in the sand, hidden from view
you dropped the word on the way to the tavern
sat on a lone bar stool and searched for it

“solace” sketched in the sand, hidden from view
other words dropped on your journey as you
sat on a lone bar stool and searched for it
“peace”, “forgiveness”, “serenity”; still lost

other words dropped on your journey as
the bottle filled the crevices of your loneliness
“peace”, “forgiveness” “serenity”; still lost
I cannot carry the word back home

the bottle filled the crevices of your loneliness
music filled your head in the cavernous darkness
I cannot carry the word back home
you know where to look

music filled your head in the cavernous darkness
you dropped the word on the way to the tavern
you know where to look
that word you lost I found it under a rock

Thank you, Gautami

Visit Read, Write, Poem. Lots of poems, lots of prompts.  Are you participating in NaWriPOMO?  I am.  Would you like a poem postcard by a student from my school? It is my second annual poetry project for the school. Contact me.

This entry was posted in Haiku, Pantoums, Read Write Poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Read, Write, Poem: First Lines

  1. Wow. Agreed with Gautami. Both are awesome – and I especially loved what you did with her first line in the pantoum. I have to give props to anyone who can write a good pantoum, and you’ve done it.

  2. Mary Lee says:

    “Borrow a first line” might be fun to do with kids!

  3. Pingback: Poetry Friday: New Book | Check It Out

  4. Both are awesome. The haiku is o the point and the pantoum is so full of imagery!

    Thanks for using my line. You did really great work with it!

    over the ridge and hard planes

  5. I’m so pleased you found inspiration in my poem‘s first line. I love your haiku, the way each line changes your point of view – first zooming in close then swooping all the way out and up to the hawk. Isn’t it amazing how much action can be compressed into three little lines? :-)

    Your pantuom is amazing. I could see this actually happening – someone writing a word in the sand and covering it with a rock. That’s a great image in itself, but then I love how you take it further, and the sadness and yet still with hope is beautiful!

Comments are closed.