Bobbette Rose, Creator of “Nested”

 

nested

Got to find out a bit more about Bobbette Rose, creator and donator of this fabulous art work for Bridget Zinn’s Auction.

How long have you been writing/ illustrating?

I started making art as a child sitting through long Sunday sermons, drawing on the back of church bulletins under the watchful “don’t squirm” eye of my mom (personally I think pews are made for squirming). My first painting was bought (and therefore my beginning as a “professional artist”) came in highschool when a guy who owned a local restaurant and hired me to paint some paintings to put inside his antique frames to hang in his restaurant. It marked my most lucrative financial year as a painter until only just recently now some 30 years later…sigh.

When you aren’t illustrating/writing, what might we find you doing?

When I’m not painting I am flying through life as a designer for print and web. Sometimes the nerdy coder and sometimes the “we don’t get it but it looks good” designer. I also love to garden…or at least dig in dirt…

Who influenced you as a writer/illustrator?

Well…some of the artists I love include William Turner, John Singer Sargeant, Mark Rothko and Makomoto Fujimura (he’s actually still alive and you can see his work at http://www.makotofujimura.com/). All these artists have an amazing sense of light that I love to float in. There are also a lot of other artists I like including what is happening among environmental artists like Andy Goldsworthy.

What is your current project?

I’m currently preparing for a solo exhibition that at the moment is called “Journey Along The Golden Thread”..,the title may change but I’m thinking a lot about journeys and passages these days as I paint.

What books are on your nightstand?

I just began reading Nueromancer by William Gibson. One of his first books, written in 1984, now thought of as a cyber-punk sci-fi novel…credited for the coining of the term “cyber-space”.

Where do you find inspiration?

The biggest influencer of my creativity on earth is probably THE earth and all the amazing things that happen on it. As a kid I would spend hours looking at the way the light works it way through layers of leaves on the trees and I still find myself being amazed at how beautiful that is. I understand why there are so many stories written about rabbits as I sit and watch the life patterns of the ones that have made my own backyard a lattice work of underground havens. I can barely make it through my morning walk into work without stopping to take a pictures of crack in the concrete opened up under the force of tiny seedling sprouts.

What was your favorite book as a child? As a teen? As an adult? Any particular genre stand out?

As a child I was a bit Dr. Seuss fan…not to read but have read to me…I loved the way my mom’s voice would move with the rhythm of the words. As a teen I read pretty much everything but that’s when I got into sci-fi and biographies.

Favorite time of the day to work?

7pm – midnight

Chocolate: white, dark, or milk?

milk

Coffee or tea or —?

Milk….not a caffeine girl

Dance : Funky chicken or the tango?

I like to sway to the beat.

Thank you, Bobbette.  If you would like to bid on “Nested”, you will find it here.

This entry was posted in Bridget Zinn Auction, Fundraiser and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bobbette Rose, Creator of “Nested”

  1. annie says:

    This makes two inspirations interview posts I’ve read this morning. Thanks Jone!

    Annie

  2. bobbette I love your Nested painting. There is so much potential illustrated in your colors and shapes. Your work reminds me of this artist: Tremain Smith. She also does encaustic painting and has done a similar style.

    Loved this interview post!

Comments are closed.