The Key to the New Year

Okay, I know that September is not the calendar new year. For me, however, starting back to school signals a new year.  Just think, I have started 52 new years in September not counting my stint at LaVerne nursery school.  I love this time of year, so fresh and optimistic.  And that’s the key to having a great year.

Another key to have a fantastic new start of school is having big ideas.  Because if I don’t have the big ideas, I am sunk.  This school year I am teaching the fifth graders for an hour.   This enables me to spend time in the computer lab and really get into research skills.  It also saves the district money.  This idea both excites and scares me.  I am so use to running my lessons on a 30 minute cycle.  It means being organized and over-planned for my students.  It was means that I can book talk more about what I am reading.

This school year we start 30 minutes later (which also saves the district money).  This is going to be a challenge for me. I get up at 5 AM.  I am awake most days at this time. So I love that I am getting bonus time in the morning to get things done. But the leaving later from school, that’s the challenge not so fun.  I am sure I will adjust.  Gotta find a good hot water maker and start drinking afternoon tea consistently. This will be key in staying focused as the afternoon wears on.

I feel as though I have been on a writing/blogging drought.  Only 3 entries in August (good grief) and 4 in July.  My brain went on vacation.   And yet, there has been a sense of accomplishment.  I did have two poems published.  One appeared the monthly Four and Twenty Journal and one was featured this past week on their blog site

So now the days are marching toward being shorter (we have 13 hours of daylight and are losing minutes every day).  Yesterday, I rearranged the living room which is our “winter patio”. 

DSC_0009

It will be where I can hang out during the school year to write and watch the seasons. Moved the couch as it just did not allow for optimal weather watching.  We tried this arrangement when we first moved in but this is slightly different (less furniture).

The keys to a great new year:

-Write three observations each day thus depositing into the poetry account (thank you, Naomi Shihab Nye)
-Continued revisions on my WIP.
-Write to the prompts given at Sunday Scribblings, One Single Impression, Poetry Stretch, and Read, Write, Poem.
-Instill the love of reading into fourth and fifth grade, help them learn who they are as readers.
-Exercise consistently.  Try to walk the out door track at school at least twice a week.

What I am looking forward to this year:

-First photography show in Pompton Plains, NJ (“Rush MacCulloch” Women: Three Generations) the photography of an aunt, niece, and great-niece.
-Visiting my aunt and the show in October.
-Once a month Family Library Nights (instead of twice).
-My monthly writing critique group.
-Continues networking with writers in the Portland area.
-Photography field trips.
-My book club, we have some great books to discuss!

What are your keys to success in projects? To read others take on the word “key”  visit Sunday Scribblings.

This entry was posted in Sunday Scribblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Key to the New Year

  1. annie says:

    This year marks the starting line of a new beginning for me. I asked myself how I could get through my last year of work since I was so checked out mentally. I figured out that such thinking was defeatist and the KEY was to start each day happily, to expect only good things and good challenges. That opened my mind to other possibilites and now instead of retiring in August next year, I’m retiring the end of July. Better for me, better for the stability of the office. I think it would have taken me a lot longer to get to this realization if I had not found the happiness key.

  2. Tammy says:

    What a great year this will be for you Jone.

  3. Dee says:

    sounds like plans for a wonderful year!

Comments are closed.