Poetry Stretch: Rictameter

This week the challenge was to write in the poetry form, rictameter.  It is a 9-line poem with a syllable count of 2/4/6/8/10/8/6/4/2 in which the first and last lines are the same.

Since today is Friday the 13th, our third one this year, I wrote a rictameter in its honor.

thirteen
unlucky number
Friday the thirteenth scares
a vast population
who avoid black cats and walking on cracks
six years before it comes
around again
thirteen

I also discovered some great big long words meaning the fear of Friday the 13th:

paraskavedekatriaphobia

friggatriskaidekaphobia

Friday the 13th will not occur again until 2015.  Greg is hosting Poetry Friday at Gottabook.  Tricia posted other rictameter poems here.  I have a review of a poetry, nonfiction and photography book at Check It Out.

This entry was posted in Poetry Friday, Poetry Stretch and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poetry Stretch: Rictameter

  1. Not until 2015? Really? I am surprised to hear that. You’ve put a lot of research into this post! I need to know how to pronounce those great words. I like how your poem points out that the fear greatly outweighs the days themselves.

  2. Wow! You just about couldn’t use either of those phobia words for ONE LINE of your rictameter! There’s some major syllabification for ya’!!

  3. annie says:

    Such days usually go right past me unnoticed, Jone. Not today. I have a dreaded phone call to make Sunday after 5 p.m. for U. S. District Court jury appearance. Perhaps this will be the beginning of my LUCKY day and will spill over into Sunday evening.

  4. Pingback: Portey Friday: Where Else in the Wild? « Check It Out

Comments are closed.