2010 NaPoWriMo Days 26-27

So my blogging friend Mary Lee wrote a one word poem on Day 25. 

Intriqued and tired from the month of asthma, allergies and work related things I have one to share as well today.  This is the prompt at One Single Impression.  It is a perfect word to describe what I have felt is happening in my school district over school libraries.

fissures

A poet and an article for you about “one-word poems”:
David R. Slavitt

“You Call That Poetry?”

Poetic Asides’ prompt for Day 27 was to choose between a hopeful poem or a hopeless poem.  This is what I came up with on the way home from last nights school board meeting:

packed room
students, board members, teachers, parents
community
social studies and libraries
both asking “what’s best for kids?”
testimonies

my drive home
golden glow twilight
cloud puffs drift
dance
blue heron flies over
homeward bound
breathe in
dusk’s freshness

late night email
about libraries
hopeful

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, One Single Impression, PAD (Poem a Day), Vacation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2010 NaPoWriMo Days 26-27

  1. Tammy says:

    A lovely poem with HOPE. YAY

  2. Mary Lee says:

    But you mentioned that things are looking hopeful in your district? *fingers remain crossed*

  3. SandyCarlson says:

    I like this, too. I told my students today that words are poems. I like what you wrote.

  4. Tumblewords says:

    I like the idea of a one-word poem. This one is so revealing and provocative when paired with your thoughts…

Comments are closed.