W is for Writing

 W is for Writing 

My two goals this summer have been

  • to write at least a poem a day
    • to put serious time into working on my WIP. 

What that has meant is saying no to activities, no to my random thoughts about picking up a beading project or scrapbooking instead of writing.  Yesterday, however, I got caught up in a super secret project for my husband’s 60th and spent more time on that instead of writing that post.

I hate the Internet in a way as it can be a huge distracter.  I mean, as I sit here writing, I am thinking about how somewhere I read that there are archival boxes for really old books.  I have my Grandfather’s History of Scotland books and his Robert Burns collection, which came over from Scotland in the late 1800’s.  They are in need of such boxes if my niece is to get them someday.  I would really like to search Google for them as I write. 

I have set aside the morning to write.  I have less distractions and random thought wandering seems better controlled in the morning.

And afternoons are for naps. I should live in a country where taking time to rest is valued. 

Where I am on my goals as the end of July nears?

I will admit that some days I write more than one poem or haiku.  I have had days where I come up with nothing, nada.  I still try to scratch few observations down.  For example today, there was a smooshed creature on the road. A crow feasted upon it.  Was it a baby possum or a rat?  I could not tell.  A huge part of me thinks it was a baby possum due to the white fur.

I’ve decided to write poems down this summer rather than instantly publishing them on the blog.  Some publishing opportunities consider material on blogs as published. 

As far as my WIP, it’s getting there.  It’s my first ad I have been working on it a good five years. It’s almost to the point of reading back through for word smithing, details, and deciding on the line breaks. (it’s in free verse).  I have considered greatly the feedback from the SCBWI-Oregon Spring Conference (my first and first time with critique outside the secure, nurturing nest of my own critique group) and changes are being made.

These summer goals have also made me think about how I use my time.  With upcoming conferences, I have to look at them through the lens of “what do I want to accomplish in my writing?”  Will the conference add benefit for me as a writer or will it be a weekend of fun?   I have to ask myself, what is it I really want to be doing right now.  And for now it’s writing.

decisions
which fork on the path
should I take

 It have been a while since I have used a prompt from here. For more on the Sunday Scribblings prompt, “letter” visit HERE.

This entry was posted in Haiku, Sunday Scribblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to W is for Writing

  1. Pingback: WFMAD, Tea, and a Secret Garden | Deo Writer

  2. Marsha says:

    I wish my boss would give me the assignment to ‘go home and read’. I started my blog so I would have a place to write, to start. Good letter choice.

  3. Marilyn says:

    Like your summer goals. Writing and naps in the afternoon. What could be more special.

  4. Lisa Nowak says:

    I know just how you feel. I told myself I was going to write from 9:00 to 1:00 today, and instead I got sucked into email, mindless desktop details, chatting with a potential plant buying customer, and talking to an existing customer who dropped off a card and gift. Normally I really like helping people, and wouldn’t have minded the plant customer (who didn’t buy anything) but right now I’m on the verge of anxiety over all the stuff on my to-do list.

Comments are closed.