Slice of Life: SCBWI-OR Spring Conference

I attended the SCBWI-OR Spring Conference last Friday and Saturday.  This is a fantastic organization if you’re a budding children’s or YA writer.

I should revise that first paragraph to say that I also presented.  My first presentation for the organization.  I always think it’s such a great idea to present and then when the time comes I wonder, ‘What was I thinking?’ 

My presentation discussed the beginning steps of blogging and twitter and blogging.  I have to admit that it gave me time to reflect on my blogging practices.  How many times of week do I need to blog?  What  am I writing about?  Is it what I want my blog to say?

The whole conference was stunning. Lin Oliver and Stephen Mooser, SCBWI creators were there (and I got to have a critique with Stephen Mooser on my WIP).  Leila Sales did a terrific workshop in writing with humor.  It was so informative. 

Finally, the camaraderie of writers and illustrators is the best. Oliver was correct in stating that we are like a “tribe” and these are “my people.”  I always feel better talking with others about writing and books.

 More Slice of Life posts can be found HERE.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge 2012 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slice of Life: SCBWI-OR Spring Conference

  1. elsie says:

    Gathering with those who are like-minded always reaffirms you. Sounds like it was a great time.

Comments are closed.