SOLS: What Day is This?

20140211-180116.jpg

Within an hour of arriving at school last Thursday, staff and students knew we’d be leaving three hours early due to an impending snow storm. Everything went smoothly; lunch served, kids on buses and for the most part delivered home.(there were some kids who needed to wait for parent pickup).

20140211-180543.jpg

We didn’t know then that school would be closed until tomorrow. Friday was a no brainer, in fact it was called Thursday night. And by Friday we had four inches of snow on the ground. It snowed Saturday and Sunday it was cold, icy, and at times freezing rain.

Yesterday the district called off school, a good call, the temperature was at freezing and the snow really wasn’t gone. But today I awoke to a two hour delay which made sense because word was the side street were still a mess.
I might mention that I live twenty-five miles from school and often the temperatures vary; my snow was gone.

But as I was getting gas and about to get on the freeway when I found out there was no school at my school plus two others. Apparently, our parking lot and school grounds still had too much ice to be safe for us. We will not have to make up today but school will now end on June 20.

I was really hoping to get more writing done, more projects, and more reading. What I’ve accomplished is a lot of coughing. This time of year allergies, asthma, and that wonderful post nasal drip get the best of me. Tonight I have a froggy voice. I am trying not to be hard on myself for not accomplishing as much as I hoped. These days are such a gift. And today it truly felt like a gift that I didn’t have to take a sick leave. But I do keeping wondering what day it is.

More slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOLS: What Day is This?

  1. Linda Baie says:

    So sorry for this winter time for so many of you east, Jone. Hope the day is a good and restful one!

  2. We’ve had a winter to remember here, too. We’ve missed thirteen days so far and haven’t had a full week of school since before Christmas. We might make it all five days this week, but the first three days have been two-hour delays. I hope you feel better soon.

  3. Dana Murphy says:

    I’m so glad it’s not just me. We’ve had 4 Snow Days, and I can’t get back on track. I’ve completely lost track of the days of the week. Me and this winter… we are over. I’m done.

Comments are closed.