SOLSC 2014: Learning Patience

20140729-133724.jpg
It’s Tuesday and time to share our slices at Two Writing Teachers.

When I announced a blog break two weeks ago, I seriously thought it would be longer. And at the end of last week, I wondered would I ever feel like writing again. But the post surgery and anesthesia fog along with pain meds has lifted and I found myself thinking about writing.

Patience

I
can wait
for the child
book wandering
for an adventure.
Me? Corseted like a
medieval wench, shoulder bound,
patience escapes in the night fog.
By the open window, the child reads.
My eyes close, my breath whispers, “patience.”

© 2014 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

Patience is my lesson this summer. Believe is my OLW but patience is my big learning opportunity.

This entry was posted in SOLSC2014, Summer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to SOLSC 2014: Learning Patience

  1. Patience is a lesson I need to be reminded of constantly. You would think by now it would have sunk in. Beautiful poem, Jone– I send you wishes for speedy healing.

  2. Jone, you captured post surgery so poetically: Corseted like a medieval wench, shoulder bound,
    patience escapes in the night fog. I remember those long nights after knee replacement a year ago. Patience is a virtue!

  3. Monica says:

    Wonderful poem, Jone. “Patience is bitter, but its fruit is sweet.” Aristotle.

  4. So hard to be patient with ourselves–and you’ve captured this so well!

  5. Wilcox Carol says:

    Like everyone else, I’m surprised to see you writing again soooo soon! Welcome back. I probably shouldn’t tell you I really HATE those patience lessons! So hard! Hang in there!

  6. maryleehahn says:

    I’m amazed to see you back so soon. Writing will help you heal!

    Greetings from VT. We are here on vacation — fly fishing.

    • macrush53 says:

      Have fun in VT. I am surprised that I a writing however, it’s one small thing I can do in the universe now of what I can’t do.

  7. Amy Boyden says:

    something just ‘right’ about this poem. thank you for sharing. Linda said, “and yearning too” and that might be what I am feeling from this too. . .

  8. Linda Baie says:

    So really, believing in patience is a path, isn’t it? Love that you’re writing, Jone. This is lovely, and yearning too.

Comments are closed.