Sunday Scribblings: Dear Diary

Dear Diary,
My obsession is journals. I love buying them. I just bought one yesterday to “record my thoughts, experiences, and feelings” as I go through the national boards for teaching. I wonder if I will consistently write.

You see, that is my problem, diary. I start with good intentions and then? Well, then, I forget or I am tired or I write about it on my blog.

I do not dare go to Powell’s City of Books. It is all over if I walk near the journal section. I mean, last June, I bought two purse-sized journals. Now I ask you how many purse-sized journals do I need in my purse at one time? Thankfully, I sent one to my niece. She writes in a journal. Maybe she will need one for her purse.

I have a journal for book ideas, a journal to list the books I have read, a gratitude journal, the purse journal, the cool words notebook, and I just upgrade my calendar to a larger size so I could put journal notes in it. I participated in a journal swap last spring. I write original haiku in that journal. Of course, it is not up to date.

What should I do diary? Any thoughts? I wish I could buy a quill like Rita Skeeter so that my journals would be up to date.
Sincerely,

Obsessed Journal Collector

What do others write in their diary? Go to Sunday Scribblings.

This entry was posted in Sunday Scribblings. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Scribblings: Dear Diary

  1. Inland Empire Girl says:

    I am glad to read about another journal junkie! Of course now you will need a National Board year journal!

  2. AnnieElf says:

    You had me laughing here Jone. I remember well our adventure at Powells and the journals that were on sale. I bought four or five. I think you were more circumspect but hey, a girl can’t have enough journals.

  3. Remiman says:

    Jone,
    I buy scads of journals too. I’ve never kept a diary unless a blog counts. I start my journals with all good intentions (sometimes I even put words in them) but I either don’t have them with me when i need to write something down or I just can’t be bothered. Now, if I collected all the scraps of paper upon which I have jotted “journal” stuff I could fill untold scrapebooks. Hmm, maybe that’s a project… a journal scrapebook. 😉
    rel

  4. Rob Kistner says:

    You could join “Scriptomaniacs Anonymous”… or simply relax, and enjoy your collection of journals… 😉 I’ll keep my eye out for you in the journal section the nect time I’m in Powell’s.

  5. gautami tripathy says:

    I like that quill idea. I too wish for one. But I am a muggle..:)

  6. Tammy says:

    I would probably do the same thing if I could write. They are so beautiful. I remember when day planners first came out. I loved buying them and filling them up. Blogger headers changing will have to do. lol

  7. Becca says:

    I love journal books too, and have a great collection of beautiful books…all blank!! The only thing I seem to write in consistently are plain old spiral notebooks (on sale now for back to school!)

    I was never succssful with diary keeping until I started doing morning pages – three pages every morning of simple stream of consciousness, whatever I’m thinking, dreaming, worrying about, whatever. No pressure to be profound or beautiful…just writing.

Comments are closed.