One Single Impression: Resolve

It was with resolve that I wrote a poem incorporating three words: “blanket, ring, and drum”.  This was a poetry challenge in the spring here.  I was successful with students but the poem was hiding from me until this week at the yearly “teachers-need-to know-what-it-feels-like to sit-all-day” in-service.

I Come From

 

I come from a grandfather clock and abandoned violin wrapped in a wool blanket

Santa Ana winds bit my cheeks as autumn’s ring of fire glowed in the night sky’

I come from John and June who combined their names to create mine

I come from foot fights with my brother during family road trips.

 

Santa Ana winds bit my cheeks as autumn’s ring of fire glowed in the night sky.

My nickname, “radar ears”, laughter, and “have you practiced the violin?” heard daily.

I come from foot fights with my brother during family road trips and

Gingersnaps, cauliflower-tomato soup-bleu cheese casserole and roast served on Sunday.

 

My nickname, “radar ears”, laughter, and “have you practiced the violin?” heard daily.

I come from dad’s teaching life, mom’s service to others, the weekend party house

Gingersnaps, cauliflower-tomato soup-bleu cheese casserole and roast served on Sunday.

I come from climbing trees to read, time with my grandmother and aunt, mentors both.

 

I come from dad’s teaching life, mom’s service to others, the weekend party house

Poetry, photos, family mysteries and the importance of education drummed into me

I come from climbing trees to read, time with my grandmother and aunt, mentors both.

Love, family, laughter, an imagined life-

 

Poetry, photos, family mysteries and the importance of education drummed into me

I come from a grandfather clock and abandoned violin wrapped in a wool blanket

Love, family, laughter, an imagined life

I come from John and June who combined their names to create mine

 

The pantuom is also from a prompt give by a staff member, a list of 8 questions prompting you to think about where you hail.  These will be shared with the school community.

More Links can be found at “One Single Impression”

This entry was posted in Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One Single Impression: Resolve

  1. Lee Wind says:

    It’s a cool structure, the large circle it forms – especially in our media-over-absorbtion, the repeating lines really start to sink in. It defies trying to “rush through it” and makes you give yourself over to the rhythm of the poem itself.

    thanks for sharing something so personal, and so well done.

    It makes me itchy to write some poetry…

    Lee

  2. Pam says:

    What a great idea for a pantoum. I have felt those Santa Anas push against me when I was a child. Isn’t the lush smell of the chaparral amazing!

  3. Sandy says:

    Brilliant! I got a very clear picture of you from your poem. But, I won’t call you radar ears. My brother and younger sister called me java man because they thought I had a low forehead!

  4. zoya gautam says:

    ..”Love, family, laughter, an imagined life”_beautiful..many thanks..

  5. SandyCarlson says:

    Love, family, laughter, an imagined life

    I come from John and June who combined their names to create mine

    I love these lines!

Comments are closed.