Sunday Scribblings: Coffee

This has been brewing since Friday.  I know Chatsworth, a stone’s throw from my child hood home. I know the Metrolink, travelled it on vacation from Burbank Airport to Simi Valley and back.  My brother and sister-in-law use the service many times in the course of a year.

My heart goes out to those families of victims from Friday’s crash.

 

Drinking a cuppa joe

The headlines read:

“total destruction

“worst accident in the history

of Metrolink”

bold Ethiopian Harrar with blueberry notes

cannot assuage fears:

could family, friends been

riding to a weekend, they would never see.

would someone let me know?

I search cyberspace

Praying not to see familiar names

A childhood memory away

A family member away

Drinking a cuppa joe

 

For more coffee rich offerings, visit Sunday Scribblings.

This entry was posted in Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Scribblings: Coffee

  1. Marcelle says:

    Ah, your poem was exactly how I felt … my friend Jeanette rides that train home from work in downtown LA and the only reason she was not on it that day – her boss made her work late. It seems like everyone I know knew someone … one of the recently graduated Valedictorians from my high school died, and my uncle’s ex-wifes brother was very seriously injured. Every time Sam meets me in Simi after work he takes that train … very very scary.

  2. macrush53 says:

    My brother and his family live in the area. They have used that transportation in the past. I grew up in there and know it. Hoping that no one I knew was involved. Have not heard anything so that is good news.

    Thank you to all who visited, it is difficult to be miles away and watch a tradegy like this unflold.

  3. Annie says:

    Dear Jone,

    Odd how I read this. First a scan. Then a blink. Then a leaning forward, nose almost touching monitor. Carefully each word was read again. With a jerk I sat back and asked myself – “Is this real? Is it possible? Might you have known someone, had some kin there?”

    If this was not real, it felt so real.

    Annie

  4. susan says:

    Have you posted a poem, short shorty, essay or some visual art that just didn’t get the love you’d hoped? We share our work and hope others enjoy it. Online, comments let us know our work has been read and appreciated.

    To celebrate older posts that got zero or few comments, leave a link at Little Lovin’ Mondays, hosted by Susan at Black-eyed Susan’s. And to show even greater appreciation for your fellow bloggers, how about commenting to a new piece while you there.

  5. Tumblewords says:

    A lovely poem addressed to another horror. Nicely done!

  6. B. Roan says:

    A very thought provoking piece. Well written. BJ

Comments are closed.