One Single Impression: Spectral

dream presence
sooth the unsettled daughter
flutter, touch, vanish

morning peace
new day begins

And a pantuom for my mother:

gone ten years
her daughter now motherless
on her own to understand the world
she wonders

her daughter now motherless
looks with longing
she wonders
what is it like to have an aging mother?

looks with longing
listens to the trials, tribulations of friends
what is it like to have an aging mother?
to have her visit for just a day

listens to the trials, tribulations of friends
dreams, remembers her own mother
to have her visit for just a day
what a moment it would be

dreams, remembers her own mother
funny, irreverent, sometimes cantankerous
what a moment it would be
see how we have all grown up

funny, irreverent, sometimes cantankerous
on her own to understand the world
see how we have all grown up
gone ten years

In memory of my mother, gone from this earth ten years this month.
I am playing around with the notion of pairing haiku with a pantuom.

One Single Impression invites you to write about “spectral”.

This entry was posted in Haiku, One Single Impression and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to One Single Impression: Spectral

  1. Yes, we go through life complaining, not realizing that having a subject to complain about in itself can be a blessing…

  2. Tumblewords says:

    Exquisite work. It strikes home to me, as my mother left two decades ago but she’s in my thoughts daily…and sometimes the missing is visceral.
    I like the idea of combining haiku and pantoum.

  3. Sandy says:

    Pantoum writing is new to me. I had to look to see what it was. Interesting!
    It works very well with this prompt. Your poem is lovely.

  4. This was beautiful…the repeated lines really stressed the loss and yearning you feel. It resonated deeply…I feel this way about my grandmother.

  5. SandyCarlson says:

    I feel your loss and I have known such wondering though in connection with my grandmother.

    God bless.

  6. Dear Jone,

    What a poignant poem and I love your blending of styles. Becoming motherless, which if we outlive our parents, will happen to most of us, and is a passage filled with all sorts of implications.

    Sending you peace & love,
    JP/deb

  7. KiteHorse says:

    clever idea for certain! pantuom malayan (via france) + haiku japanese (via romaji) ~ yields pantu

Comments are closed.