Read Write Poem: Face

The prompt this week at Read Write Poem is “face”:

hair-silver white
crinkles around eyes misses
wife of fifty years

drinking buds they were
manhattan, seven n’seven

In the end, my father missed my mother terribly.  Face the poems here.   I am looking forward to napowrimo 09!

This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Read Write Poem: Face

  1. pieceofpie says:

    you have captured their relationship…

  2. Erin says:

    I think the last line of the poem: “In the end my father missed my mother terribly” is really graceful in its directness…

  3. Gordon Mason says:

    Powerful loss; like how ‘misses’ (with sound of Mrs) goes with ‘wife’.

  4. Carolee says:

    looking forward to napowrimo, too! thanks for writing on the face prompt this week!

  5. I really like the “crinkles around eyes misses // wife of fifty years”, the attention to the details that really show the emotion

Comments are closed.