NaPoWriMo: Found Poem

Read Write Poem’s prompt today is to create a found poem.  It is like going to the thrift shop and creating a new use for the lines fund in books says the people of Read Write Poem.

I looked up Rumi and found lines from a variety of his writings.  I used the pantuom form to create the following:

floating and flying in the will of the air,
the fountain of sun inside
come, come, whoever you are
for would the sun not wander

.
the fountain of sun inside
we are going to sky
for would the sun not wander
away in every night?

we are going to sky
who wants to come with us?
away in every night?
like a star without a name.

who wants to come with us?
the sun moving, clouds behind him run
like a star without a name
into the loving nowhere, or during the day

the sun moving, clouds behind him run
come, come, whoever you are
into the loving nowhere, or during the day
floating and flying in the will of the air,
From Rumi:

-“A Star without a Name”
– Look This is Love
-Masnavi Book I 599-607
-“Gone to the Unseen”
– “He Comes”
– Mathnawai VI 216-227

And yay for me this is post 304!  For more found poems visit here. Visit my student’s work at Check It Out.  Do you want a “Poem Postcard”?  This is a project I am doing with my students.

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, Pantoums, Read Write Poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaPoWriMo: Found Poem

  1. Danielle says:

    Color me all kinds of impressed. Now you’ve inspired me to try the pantoum… and to pick up my book of Rumi and remind myself of how terrific that poetry is.
    Great work, great choice, great poem.

  2. Rumi is one of my favourites. I like the way you did the pantoum. It works so well!

    A man, his fiddle and crows

  3. Kelly says:

    I had never heard of a found poem. Cool. Nicely done!

  4. Gavin says:

    Wonderful choice, and congratulations on your 304th post!

  5. Lori says:

    Thank you for reminding me that, even in the darkest of days, the sun is always there to shine its way through!

    http://lori102870.blogspot.com/2009/04/stitch-in-timenapowrimo-10by-me.html

Comments are closed.