NaPoWriMo: Where Do You Come From?

Yesterday, Read Write Poem suggested writing a “where do you come from” poem. 

I wrote a pantuom about my roots in August, that’s here. So I went back to my original and condensed it into haiku. 

parents: teacher, nurse
abandoned violin song
weekend party house

grandfather clock chimed
santa ana winds bit cheeks
elizondo street

family road trips
back seat foot fights with brother
cross country summer

autumn’s fire ring
grandmother, aunt, both mentors
roast served on Sunday

college girl leaves home
wraps herself in northwest rain
teaches poetry

 I am very interested in combining pantuom with haiku as the two forms are so contrasting.  For more good poetry reading or prompts Visit Read Write Poem.

This entry was posted in Haiku, NaPoWriMo and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.