NaPoWriMo: Behind the Museum Door

Tricia at The Miss Rumphius Effect invited readers to imagine what was behind the museum door this week.  Some writers, described paintings or artifacts.  What came to mind for me was an image of a very young artist using the museum as a mentor.  I also thought of Konigsburg’s wonderful story From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler.

Behind the Museum Door

young artist, cold  bench
colored pencils, sketchbook in hand
instead of homework

head bobs up and down
eyes glance at mentor’s  painting
draft lines, shapes appear

closing time  announced
 artist gathers belongings
crumples, tosses away

artist stares surprised 
as painting speaks, “keep at it”
retrieves tattered draft

Tricia has posted results here on the prompt here.  Becky is rounding up poetry here.

This entry was posted in Haiku, NaPoWriMo, Poetry Friday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NaPoWriMo: Behind the Museum Door

  1. 🙂
    This is very sweet. I’d love to think that artists/writers/whoever were offering encouragement from beyond the canvas/page/grave.

    I lovelovelove From the Mixed-Up Files.

  2. harri3tspy says:

    Nice. I like the personification of the painting, which gets at the connection between a focused observer and the art. And thanks for your comment at my place!

  3. annie says:

    Jone, this prompt reminds me of two things I did years ago at two different museums. I wonder if I can pull a poem or two together on those memories. I will have to try it at HOJ this morning.

Comments are closed.