Bridget Zinn Auction: Featuring April Henry

I met April Henry last September at the 2nd Annual Kidlitosphere Conference.   April has published six mysteries and thrillers for both YA and adults besides reviewing books for our local paper, The Oregonian.  She is considered a “talent to watch” by one newspaper and a “rising mystery writer” by another.

She has been very supportive in the Portland area Kidlit Bloggers’s efforts to help our friend, Bridget Zinn.  Thanks to April and her post on Live Journal helped expand the donors for Bridget’s on-line auction.

Recently, I asked April to respond to the following interview questions:

What have you recently published and what are you currently working on?

My YA thriller, Torched, just came out in March. And my adult mystery, Face of Betrayal, which was co-written with Lis Wiehl, came out in April – and just made the New York Times bestseller list!

What books are on your nightstand?

The Little Giant of Aberdeen County, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, and Skin.

Where do you find inspiration?

Everywhere and anywhere! Dreams, magazines, newspapers, overheard conversations, photographs…

What advice to do you have for would be writers/illustrators?

Keep working at your craft and keep putting stuff out there. There were many times when my career floundered but if I had given up I would never have made it where I am today.

What was your favorite book as a child? As a teen? As an adult? Any particular genre stand out?

I loved The Sliver Crown and Enchantress from the Stars as both a child and a teen. As an adult, I’ve read too many books to have a favorite. I read a lot of sci-fi as a kid. As an adult, I read a lot of mysteries and literary fiction.

Writing the first draft or revising? Which is your favorite?

Depends on good the muse is being.

Favorite time of the day to work?

Morning.

Chocolate: white, dark, or milk?

Dark. With nuts.

Coffee or tea or —?

Coffee.

Dance: Funky chicken or the tango?

I am way too uncoordinated to dance the tango, so funky chicken it is!

 Are you currently working on a YA or mystery mystery manuscript? April is offering a 20-page manuscript critique of either.  It will include the big picture as well as a line edit.  It is valued at $100 and the opening bid is $50.  Head over here to bid on this wonderful opportunity.

This entry was posted in Bridget Zinn Auction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.