Do You Know Maybelle, the Bunny?

Maybelle the Bunny is the debut book for Keith Patterson, author, and BeesKnees Books, independent publishing company owned by Nancy Arruda and Kim Baise.  Arruda and Baise, sisters were attendees at the Portland Kidlit Blooging Conference last fall.

When they heard that Bridget Zinn was ill, they offered a copy of Maybelle along with the sweetest and softest stuffed bunny ever!

Keith Patterson kindly answered  a set of interview questions recently.

What have you recently published and what are you currently working on?

Maybelle, Bunny of the North is my first published book (I have two online books on Lulu.com).

What books are on your nightstand?

I just started a book called Earth, the Sequel, by Fred Krupp and Miriam Horn, a book about making the transition to sustainable energy.

Where do you find inspiration?

My five year old daughter is my main source of inspiration, because she has a vivid imagination. I also love the work of William Steig, Maurice Sendak, Virginia Lee Burton, Wanda Gag, Ludwig Bemmelmans, and many others. The painter, Gabriella Munter is very inspiring.

What advice to do you have for a would be writers/illustrators?

I think the people who succeed in life are committed to what they are doing, and enjoy their work.

What was your favorite book as a child? As a teen? As an adult? Any particular genre stand out?

My favorite children’s book has always been Where the Wild Things Are, by Maurice Sendak. I remember liking The Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis, and Don Quixote, by Cervantes. My favorite book as an adult would probably be The Omnivore’s Dilemma, by Michael Pollan. It’s about the crazy system of factory farms, subsidized corn syrup, etc. that we have in America.

Writing the first draft or revising? Which is your favorite?

My favorite would be if everything came out perfect the first time, but sometimes you have to do things over.

Favorite time of the day to work?

I try to get up early and work.

Chocolate: white, dark, or milk?

Dark with chiles!

Coffee or tea or —?

Peach Ginger tea.

Dance: Funky chicken or the tango?

I don’t do a lot of dancing.

Thanks, Keith.  Now I may have to bid on this package myself for one of the grandgirls.  Trouble is, I really need three.  If you would like to bid on Maybelle, please visit Bridget Zinn Auction.

Heidi Estrin, The Book of Life, interviewed me this week for a podcast regarding the auction.  You can here the podcast here.

This entry was posted in Bridget Zinn Auction, Fundraiser. Bookmark the permalink.