Dog Days of Summer

It happens every August. I become torn between enjoying my summer days and realizing it’s time to think about the school year. 

This coming weekend(as in tomorrow) will be the beginning of my last fling of the summer.  I head to Bodega Bay w/ my college roommates. 

Odell Hall Conference, 2002

This tradition of meeting up during the summer began eight years ago. Sometimes it’s someone’s house, last year it was Victoria, BC. 

Bodega Bay was selected as a special get away in honor of our forty years of friendship.  It’s hard to believe it has been that many years.  In fact, I can remember my aunt telling me about how she and her best friend from college had been friends for forty years. I remember being amazed at the length of that friendship(and now it is approaching close to 70 years).

These women are not just friend but soul sisters or to quote Lisa See, my “sworn sisters” as I wrote about HERE.

Even though I have not posted much, I have been writing.  The prompts that Laurie Halse Anderson is leading us through the month of August as fantastic.  I will miss Saturday and Sunday prompts but will writ for fifteen minutes each day this weekend.

After this weekend, I will turn attention to school and begin my 36th year of teaching.

This entry was posted in Gratitude, Summer, Vacation, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dog Days of Summer

  1. Marilyn says:

    Love Bodega Bay. What a wonderful tradition. I recently reconnected with a high school girlfriend I hadn’t seen in 40 years. It was so much fun.

  2. Lisa Nowak says:

    It seems that no matter what’s going on in my life, the first week or so of August is always a transition. You go from the time when you’re just beginning to enjoy the good weather to the time when you have to accept that it’s late summer. It seems like one day I can’t get enough of blue skies and sunshine and the next I’m actually looking forward to the clouds.

Comments are closed.