It’s National Poetry Month!

I will again be writing a poem a day. I realized today that I have written a poem a day during April during the last four years.

I will be on a blog vacation from today through April 9 but I will be writing everyday.

Here’s one I wrote this summer:

scrawk, screek,
scrawk, screek
two swings childless
in tandem swing
ocean breeze pushes

This entry was posted in NaPoWriMo, PAD (Poem a Day) and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s National Poetry Month!

  1. Lisa Nowak says:

    I was wondering what those sounds were, and when you mentioned the swings I knew you were exactly right. That’s just how they sound.

  2. Love how you have created a vivid image for us with so few words. Beautiful poem!
    I love this poem-a-day challenge. Every year I wonder how and then, miraculously, I do! 🙂

  3. Mary Lee says:

    Happy vacation!

  4. Janet says:

    Yes, I’ve seen swings like that and felt that slight melancholy. You capture it perfectly.

  5. Such an image here…I really like the world “childless” in this one. I am a bit sad for the swings, but they seem okay with the ocean’s breath!

  6. I have often seen swings like that and your poem captures the feeling.. thanks! I am in the poem-a-day club too. Ain’t it grand?

Comments are closed.