Mother’s Day

I don’t seem to have  photos handy  of my mom and me together.  If I did, I’d post them.  One of them is around somewhere.  I was 14 and my mother, 39.  I remember finding it after her passing in 1999.  We were by our pool in bathing suits.  I asked my dad who the woman next to me was and about fell over when he said it was my mom.  You see,, I didn’t remember that she had quite the figure at that age.

At One Single Impression the prompt is LOVE.  In honor of my mother:

mother’s day, still miss
her, twelve years later.
stories and laughter

My mom had a wicked sense of humor and sometimes a biting tongue.  But she made me laugh a lot.   And she would show up places.  She loved to surprise my aunts and uncles on the east coast by showing up, unannounced.  I loved that about her.   She (and my father) often did random things for people.  I loved that about them both.  

It gets easier but I still wish I could call her up and talk. Especially today.

Visit OSI and see how others have written about love.

This entry was posted in Haiku, One Single Impression and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Mother’s Day

  1. annie says:

    By the way, we will be visiting the end of July/early August. No firm date yet but there’s a heads-up for you.

  2. annie says:

    I would have like your mom, Jone. I too love to surprise people. And, Don did just that when he was back in Missouri earlier this month. He didn’t mention it to too many people so lots of surprises and pleased to see you’s.

  3. magicalmysticalteacher says:

    For me it’s been eight years–and I still miss my mom. Even though mothers may go away, they are not forgotten…

  4. Teri C says:

    A very sweet and poignant memory of your Mother. She sounds awesome.

  5. Andy says:

    The memories of your mom will always remain in your heart.
    Lovely tribute. Thanks for sharing

  6. Write Girl says:

    This is a beautiful poem in honor of your mom and embodies the most amazing act of love (the love of a mother). Stunning.

  7. Jingle says:

    sweet.
    love it.

    😉

  8. Harshad says:

    Stories and laughter….

    Remain in heart, always.

  9. Jim says:

    I like this tribute to your mom, Jone. 🙂 Mother’s day brings it out. Perhaps next year for my mom. Mom also died in 1999.
    ..

Comments are closed.