Slice of Life Story Challenge: 11 of 31

Slice of Life Story Challenge is one-third complete. Wow! 

This morning was cold and rainy.  A friend on Facebook left me this quote:
“The best kind of rain, of course, is a cozy rain. This is the kind the anonymous medieval poet makes me remember, the rain that falls on a day when you’d just as soon stay in bed a little longer, write letters or read a good book by the fire, take early tea with hot scones and jam and look out the streaked window with complacency. ~Susan Allen Toth, England For All Seasons”

It has been a day of cozy rain, cat naps and reading.  I write while sipping tea.  Sundays are a time to reflect and prepare for the week ahead.  On a day with sun, a walk would be in order.

I remember as a child in southern California, Sundays were for taking a ride with my parents and brother.  Many Sundays, we would pile into the Ford Galaxy and just drive. Sometimes we would end up at friend’s homes, other times we’d drive to Adelanto to see my great-aunt and uncle.  That drive took us on a windy road and the inside of the car would be blue smoke thanks to my parents and their cigarettes. Cough, cough.

I loved going to my great-aunt and uncle’s house as they always had such interesting things to look at.  They prepared a wonderful Sunday dinner and the back enclosed porch had a glider that was best place to sit.

There would be times that our wanderings would find us either at Knott’s Berry Farm or Disneyland.  Back then, there were tons of orange groves to be passed before arriving to the entrances.  In the spring the sweet perfume of the blossoms would seep into our car.  Our parents would attempt to surprise us but my sense of direction would kick in and I knew that we were headed to something magical.

I think a childhood like this created in a hardwire in my that I want my Sundays to be a slow-paced day.   It’s the very reason why when I say the day is cold and rainy I really don’t mind.

More Slice of Life Stories can be found HERE.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge 2012 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice of Life Story Challenge: 11 of 31

  1. pamelahodges says:

    A slice about today, and a memory of childhood. Woven together with sights and smells.
    Cough, cough
    .sweet perfume of the blossoms
    When my senses are involved the story comes alive more.
    Thank you for your slice.

  2. Stacey says:

    Sounds like Sundays are as special now as they were in the days of the Ford Galaxy. 🙂

Comments are closed.