Slice of Life Story Challenge: 25 of 31

From Two Writing Teachers today:

“There comes a time when the world gets quiet and the only thing left is your own heart. So you’d better learn the sound of it. Otherwise you’ll never understand what it’s saying.”

— Sarah Dessen

This quote it resonating with me today. It’s been that quiet day, that listening to my heart day. Perhaps this is because my brother texted me to let me know his mother-in-law, Betty, passed from this earth early this morning. 

She was diagnosed with brain cancer in December. And my brother, “retired” early from the space industry, with time, spent everyday with her.  This weekend the whole family was with her to be together and say good-byes.

Tonight when I spoke to him we talked about the differences between losing our aunt last June. She was determined to die on her own without family around. 

I am listening to my heart today and sending love through the miles to my brother and his family.

More SOLSC slices HERE.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge 2012 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slice of Life Story Challenge: 25 of 31

  1. Dana says:

    Thank you for stopping by my blog the other day. I am so sorry to hear that your brother and his family are going through this. Ug.

    Jen is correct, your post had such calm – as though we could hear you listening to your heart.

  2. jen says:

    This post had such calm in it. There was a flow that felt so peaceful. I hope your brother and his family feel it to! Sending blessings…

  3. Your words reflect well what’s on your heart. Blessings to you all.

  4. Your entry harkens to the quote well. It is good to listen and love across miles, across minutes, to what your heart is saying in this room and beyond.

Comments are closed.