Slice of Life Story Challenge: 30 of 31

I don’t have much to write tonight. I think because I woke up at 3:30 AM and we were on the road by 4 AM. Rainy, dark and wet. My husband was a trooper in driving, I would have preferred to stay in bed an hour longer.

After we got through the Columbia Gorge, the air became drier, the rain lessened, and the light of day arrived.

We arrived in La Grand, OR at breakfast time and had to stop at our favorite restaurant, The Smokehouse. They have the best buttermilk pancakes!

By the time we got to Boise, ID, it was Lime Slushie time at Sonic.

There are just some places along the road that require stopping, what places do you like to stop at on road trips?

For more slices, visit HERE

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge 2012 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice of Life Story Challenge: 30 of 31

  1. Paul says:

    The best stops are the ones in small towns. The smaller, the better. Nothing funnier than walking into the local coffee shop to see all the locals’ heads turn — who the hell are these people? What are outsiders doing in our town? šŸ™‚

    I’ve driven across Oregon and Idaho more than once; thanks for evoking those memories in my mind. You may have just influenced my summer travel/camping plans!

  2. Wendi says:

    I wish I could enjoy road trips. Instead, I’m so focused on where I want to be that it’s hard to relax and just enjoy the ride – and the stops we could make if I wasn’t in such a dang hurry to get there already. I’ll have to remember your post next time I travel and try to stop and find something to look forward to on the journey.

Comments are closed.