SOLSC 2013: Cat in the Hat Day in the Library

20130305-203838.jpg

20130305-203915.jpg

20130305-203950.jpg

Today Dawn Prochovnic, author visited our school library to share her love of reading with one of the third grade class. It was great as Dawn tied in how reading Dr. Seuss’ books put the ryhme and rhythm in her head when she wrote her own tales.

As you can see she brought some of her own childhood to show the students. I love when this happens as I share my childhood books with students as well.

What’s great about Dawn’s books is that she weaves American Sign Language. She read The Nest Where I Rest. It was a great romp for the third graders.

That’s my slice for today. What’s yours?
More can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Books, Slice of Life Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Cat in the Hat Day in the Library

  1. Thanks so much for inviting me to visit your school. I had a great time sharing my love of books, sign language and Dr. Seuss with your students!

  2. I took a peek at her blog. What a wonderful gift to children, she is.

Comments are closed.