SOLSC 2013: Day 14 of 31

20130313-134727.jpg

Hello Slicers,

Do you have book topics that you don’t want to read? Or perhaps genres? When you are a K-5 Teacher Librarian, choosing not to read certain books can be problematic.

This year’s Newberry Award winner, The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate presents a problem for me. I don’t like to read animal stories. This is what my schema is about animal stories: they. are. sad. and. I. will. cry.

This happened with The Underneath by Kathi Appelt (a Newberry Honor Book) a couple years ago. I listened to the book on my twenty-five mile drive to school. I almost stopped with in the first chapter. But my schema talk kept saying, it might be okay. It was sad and yet there was transformation, redemption and how can you not love those themes.

So getting back to The One and Only Ivan. I have been book talking it this week because it won the Newberry Award and I like to promote new books, books that will make you think. I also love that the book has a seed of truth. It’s more than that because the true story of Ivan happened in Tacoma, WA almost in my backyard.

I read the first few pages to a class and absolutely loved the writing. I am predicting it will be sad. I am trying to convince myself to take it home to read. I hate sad animal stories. And I hate that once again I am behind the times regarding reading books as they are published.

I most likely will push myself to read The One and Only Ivan. I will need to trust the author with the story.
What about you? Do you have stories you stay away from?

More Slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers

This entry was posted in Books, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Day 14 of 31

  1. GirlGriot says:

    I know the kinds of books that will flatten me, and I try to protect myself and avoid them … but that doesn’t always work. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, The Art of Political Murder, Methland … unfortunately for my ability to sleep peacefully when I read these kinds of books, the list goes on and on!

  2. I will post about The One and Only Ivan …I cannot stay away and yes it is sad and happy all rolled into one. But I love stories that move me so much that I cry. One of my favorites is Crash, by Jerry Spinelli. I have to practice the ending over and over so I won’t cry. xo

  3. I’ll read almost anything, but there are some I love more than others. I have to push myself to tackle nonfiction, but I’m finding I like it more than I thought I would. And I love books that give me a good cry–unless I’m reading one aloud to a class. I have a class now waiting for me to break down in sobs while I read Pictures of Hollis Woods to them.

  4. mtsedwards says:

    I stay away from stories about war, specifically Vietnam. I just can’t handle it. I also don’t do zombies. This makes it tough to try to connect reluctant male readers to material because these two topics seem to be uppermost in most guys’ minds. More power to you, reading things that make you sad. I couldn’t do it.

  5. I have yet to read Ivan as well, but I’ve heard so many good things about it. Yes, novels about animals are often sad. I don’t purposefully avoid them, but I can’t say that I purposefully seek them out either. I don’t like it when an author plays with my heartstrings gratuitously. Ivan doesn’t sound like that kind of book, though.

  6. Nicole says:

    The One and Only Ivan is sad, but its also uplifting and it’s a story of love and friendship of loyalty and promises… I stray away frm fantasy… Things that aren’t rea, fairies, wizards, vampires — and yet everything my students have encouraged me to read the past few months ( Harry Potter, Enders Game) I’ve loved … I guess I nano longer say I’m not a fantasy reader.

  7. Angela says:

    I often try to stay away from stories that are sad…unsuccessfully. Sad is where the heart is sometimes. : )

Comments are closed.