SOLSC 2013: Day 16 of 31

20130315-200211.jpg

Welcome slicers. Reflecting on Poetry Friday and thinking about National Poetry Month.
It was quite a day on Friday over at my school blog, Check It Out. I featured a poem by the Children’s Poetry Laureate, J. Patrick Lewis. He loves to write funny and fun poems however, yesterday we got a glimpse at another side of Lewis.

I also had the pleasure of serving as the host of Poetry Friday, a community of bloggers who celebrate poetry every week. What’s fun is to find other slicers sharing poetry. I usually host once or twice a year. It’s a fabulous community to belong to.

This April, everyday will be Poetry Friday at Check It Out as I will feature the poetry of students. They have worked diligently on their poems. I finished accumulating the poems to send for potential publication in the Young Poets’ Digest.

There’s still time to sign to sign up for a Poetry Postcard HERE.

Two Writing Teachers has more slices.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Day 16 of 31

  1. Wilcox Carol says:

    I love Poetry Friday and have been really bad about participating this year. Must. get. organized. I am toying with writing a poem every day during April. Not sure I could actually pull it off!

  2. How exciting for your students! Poetry is the genre I’m still nervous about…but today I posted up one. Thank you for the links for me to read and share. xo

Comments are closed.