SOLSC 2013: Day 18 of 31

20130318-185745.jpg

I have just started participating with Shiki Kukai Monthly haiku group. It is an opportunity to submit haiku for peer review. There are two categories: haiku featuring a kigo (Japanese for season) word and then a free form format.

Last month, I submitted the following haiku. The word was a season word, withered.

snowflakes falling
on withered jade
passages

The way it works is that haiku are submitted one week and then the following week, an email is sent with 100 or more haiku for each topic. Haiku is anonymous until after voting. You get six points per category to distribute among the haiku. Talk about difficult. Since I submitted just in the kigo word category, I could only vote in that category.

After a week of voting, points are revealed and a winner declared. I was pleased to garnered three points my first time out.

Voting just started for this month. I submitted for both categories. I will update next week.

More slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Haiku, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SOLSC 2013: Day 18 of 31

  1. Beth Rogers says:

    This sounds very interesting. I may need to give it a look when I am more awake. I love haiku because you have to choose your words so carefully. Thank you for sharing. I especially like the phrase “withered jade.”

Comments are closed.