SOLSC 2013: Day 25 of 31

20130325-161320.jpg

“Forgiveness is giving up all hope of having had a better past.” ~Anne LaMott

A friend of mine was visiting recently. We were discussing faith, religion, and spirituality and forgiveness. This was partly because her life has been disrupted the last couple of years with an ugly divorce. Her adult children seem constantly mad at her. Some of her children do not believe in a higher power.

So it makes me wonder. Is there a connection to believing in a higher power and forgiveness? Does having a higher power make it possible to understand the flaws of human nature?

I like this quote from Anne LaMott. It speaks to me in regards to my upbringing. I was loved by my parents, they wanted the best for me but they also partied a lot and had certain expectations I needed to meet. I was angry at them until my mid-thirties. But I found a way to grapple with my childhood (which really wasn’t that bad) and I could forgive.

Was it because my mother was ill with COPD? Was it divorcing a man who was abusive to me?
Which is another way the LaMott quotes speaks to me, my first marriage was such a roller coaster.
It’s about forgiving and letting go. I did that with both my parents and my ex-husband.

I believe I am able to forgive because I am not perfect (I am a recovering perfectionist however). I think for me it does because of my faith.

For more slices, read Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Day 25 of 31

  1. Jaana says:

    The way that you describe yourself “recovering perfectionist.” I believe that it is much easier to forgive with God’s help. He tends to remind me that I have faults too, therefore, I should not be so quick to judge others. Thought provoking post.

  2. mayawoodall says:

    Love Traveling Mercies and much of Lamott’s other writings, too. I love that you used one quote and demonstrated how faith leads to forgiveness.

  3. I have enjoyed many of Anne Lamott’s writings.

  4. Angela says:

    Anne Lamott is my favorite writer, and it is wonderful to read how her words moved someone else.

Comments are closed.