SOLSC 2013: Day 27 of 31

20130327-202730.jpg

20130327-202741.jpg

I am currently reading this book, Program or Be Programmed by Douglas Rushkoff. It’s the “All Vancouver Read” through the public library.

At first I wasn’t sure about reading this book and the first pages were beginning to confirm it for me. Then he got into the ten commands. I am intentionally reading the book slowly. I just finished “Time” and “Place.”
I have been chewing on this since reading: the concept that not too long ago, people intentionally sat down, logged on to send and receive email versus today when everything is delivered to whatever device you might have. Think about this! Wow. I haven’t done it yet but I am going to hide my email on my phone. To me it’s the curse of having the phone. I like having my phone on silent. It drives my husband crazy.

I am not there yet about why we should be teaching programming but will continue to digest this book slowly.
The author has a new book out which also sounds good. It’s Present Shock–When Everything Happens Now.

Booklist (February 15, 2013 (Vol. 109, No. 12) says this:
Living in a world of perpetually updated Internet news bulletins and cell phones primed for the latest text messages from friends and family, many of us feel pressured to keep up with all the latest gossip and information trends. Our past and future have become less important than staying current with whatever is happening now, an attitude toward time that philosophers call presentism. Using Future Shock, Alvin Toffler’s classic study of runaway technological growth, as a jumping-off place, prolific author and media expert Rushkoff cites presentism as one of the dominant fixations of our era. With abundant fodder from reality-TV shows, Twitter, blogs, and the Home Shopping Network, the information glut, Rushkoff points out, includes a mash-up of past, present, and future references that’s both confusing and misleading. Rushkoff highlights several areas of social dis-ease, including our obsessive need to be everywhere and do everything at once, and a curious predilection for apocalyptic entertainment. A sobering wake-up call to collectively reexamine our relationship with time before we’re blindsided by an unwelcome future.

Just in time for spring break reading.
More slices can be found Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Books, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Day 27 of 31

  1. Because of the constant need to be ‘on call’ in case there is an emergency with my husband, I have been so grateful for my IPhone in the past year, but I don’t use it either for checking e-mail, Facebook, etc. The book sounds fascinating, Jone. I remember Future Shock and that it was a big impact during those times it came out. Of course, that was before the internet wasn’t it? I wonder if Toffler is still living. Thanks for telling about this possible habit “change”.

  2. I so relate to this Jone. Everything is right now. There is no time to think. I spend way too much time on Facebook. My phone is always on. I’ve been thinking about this for a while now and I believe I’m going to assign myself a phone free/computer free zone of time everyday. And during that time, I’m going to do something positive and creative; something productive.

  3. Wilcox Carol says:

    I hadn’t heard of this book. It sounds interesting, though. Won’t get it read during spring break but maybe this summer????I don’t have a smart phone, and although I often wish I did, sometimes I think I am more connected to the world and more aware without one.

Comments are closed.