SOLSC 2013: High School Book Club

20130423-083326.jpg

20130423-083335.jpg

A few weeks ago I wrote about my book HERE.

Yesterday, I had the opportunity to visit a high school book club,and talk about my book. If you are writing for children, having students act as beta readers is quite a help.

I briefly touch on my writing process and the inspiration for the story. Then I took questions.There were such great comments and questions:

Are you in the book?
The scene where Darrah kisses Jackson and he reacts in disgust, I think you should change a nd it should be a brief kissing scene, little romance. ( This from a boy. It appeared that the scene was debated).
Who was my inspiration for the characters?
Apparently the teacher in the story was debated.
And there were questions about the family of the main character.

I also touched on the importance of belonging to writing organizations such as SCBWI and Willamette Writers.

Foloowing the meeting, one of the students asked me to read her work. She participated in the NaWriMo.

This morning, I had an email from a the chair of the book club with the above photo. What a way to begin the day with this:

“Although the target audience is younger, Tilt deeply resonated with people my age. Loss, friendship, grieving are universal, and I can’t wait for it to get published so that more people can read it! I can already see myself stumbling across your book in Barnes and Noble, chancing upon it in a moving library, or just finding a stranger on public transport engrossed with it. It has so much potential! ”

I am continuing to polish, polish, polish. In forty-eight hours I will be on the east coast going to “Where Poetry Meets Poetry: Writing the Poetry Novel” at Highlights.

Stayed tuned, I will share about my weekend next week.

More slicers can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Poetry, school, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLSC 2013: High School Book Club

  1. neenslewy says:

    Exciting stuff, good luck!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    This is certainly wonderful for you, in all the ways, your readers & your coming writing experience. I’m going to a Highlights conference in the fall-so exciting! Best wishes for your novel!

Comments are closed.