SOLSC 2013: Gardening and Reading

20130514-211239.jpg

After two weekends away (and they were much anticipated adventures), it was a weekend at home. So needed! I love going away but I also treasure home time.

To wake up on Saturday morning and not rush around was a treat. My husband and I went to Home Depot, taking Buster on a social out. I am hoping to get him socialized enough to become a therapy dog.

The front yard has been sad of late. The warm weather, sunshine, and spring is the perfect setup for crazy weeds. So I was able to spend time pulling them up. The roses are about to burst.

So after the time outside, and the heat of the day rising, it was time to read. My reading group is reading The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. I wasn’t sure when I started it but what a fantastic read. The text is engaging while raising questions about how we treated people in the past.

What was your weekend like?

More slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Gardening and Reading

  1. newtreemom says:

    “The roses are about to burst.” Like that description.
    I thought the Henrietta Lacks book raised a lot of questions, too.

  2. dmurphy2013 says:

    Sounds like a perfect weekend to me! The perfect mix of productive and relaxing. 🙂

  3. Janet F. says:

    I am so going to try to get into this group and more writing. I can’t wait to get to Honesdale on Sunday. Thanks for your kind words about my poem, Jone. Off to the funeral of my friend who fought her disease with such courage. (She had a major surgery this fall (second time) and the odds were so good! 95% cure rate, but alas she was not in the 95%……but she lived a magnificent life so there is much rejoicing in that. So hopefully she is dancing on the wind right now as we remember her.
    And also I loved getting my poetry postcard. I must write to the young poet to thank her soon. And will. But if you can tell her, for me, it was just very sweet. What a great project.

  4. Linda Baie says:

    I did some weeding and reading too! Just pulling & digging those weeds is so relaxing, good therapy being home as you said. Glad you made it into the slices!

Comments are closed.