SOLSC 2013: Where Will I Be Next Week?

20130730-094156.jpg

At Two Teachers Writing, Stacey asks if we will be in New York City next week. It sounds inviting but I will be on the road to Southern California next week to see family and friends. It’s where I grew up. I left to attend college in Portland, Oregon and never looked back. But in the two years since I last visited there have been changes in family. My brother and his wife separated, my brother is on a new career path, my niece is about to finish acupuncture school, and my great nephew turned three, no longer a baby but a toddler. So I am looking forward to this trip.

My husband and I will not be traveling alone. Our daughter and grandgirl are coming with us so it will be quite the adventure. It seems that we will be there for so many days and yet, the days are filled with get togethers with family and friends. The time is sure to fly by as I do what I can to keep it slow.

Probably one of the most surprising things for me to learn was about the closure of Marineland of the Pacific. How could I not know it closed 27 years ago? It was somewhere my parents took us as kids (almost as frequently as Disneyland) to see Bubbles the whale.

My August adventure begins with four days in Leavenworth, WA with my college dorm pals. This is our tenth year of getting together.

Where will you be next week? More slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to SOLSC 2013: Where Will I Be Next Week?

  1. Ramona says:

    Enjoy your August adventures with family and friends!

  2. Carol says:

    Wow! Two great trips! Have lots of fun!

  3. What a great time of year to visit SoCAL! Enjoy your trip!

Comments are closed.