SOLSC 2013: Portland to Coast- Paying It Forward

20130820-211154.jpg

Each year, the Hood to Coast for runners or Portland to Coast for walkers relay happens the fourth weekend of August. It’s touted as a largest relay in the world.

In 1999 and 2000, I participated in the relay and it was a blast! Two vans of six walkers, three legs of walking and twenty-four hours of pure craziness.

One of my critique partners is walking this year. She’s actually been on a team for several years. She probably keeps the spirits in the van at full on laughter because she’s one of the funniest people I know. This year it’s personal for her because she’s walking to raise money for her friend, Jacki, who’s fighting triple negative breast cancer. You can read more about her HERE.

Jacki’s story reminds me of my friends who are survivors, one of them has triple negative. It reminds me of my aunt, a breast cancer survivor. When she passed in 2011(not of breast cancer), I spent a little time with her extended family. Those two words came up again “triple negative” which Trish, one of the family members, battled. And last fall one more person was claimed by cancer. One more husband who lost a wife and two girls who lost their mother. While I hardly know Trish and her family, I followed their journey at It’s a Creekmore World.

Cancer is such an ugly illness. By donating to Kelly as she walks this weekend, I am paying it forward to Jackie and remembering those who have survived and those who have gone before us because of this hideous disease.

More slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers.

This entry was posted in Pay It Forward, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.