SOLSC: School Beginnings

20130910-194438.jpg

School’s back in session. I can’t believe it’s been a week already. Seen all the classes with two back to back kinder classes at the end of the day today.

Oh. My. Word. I forget what babies they are and how overwhelming it must be for those little kinders. Guiding the to sit criss-cross in rows, being quiet during the story, and learning to twiddle their thumbs.

Yes, I teach them that. It is something I have done all my life. It keeps me calm. While I don’t have proof, I do believe it activates of sides of the brain and it definitely lessen the need for a fidget toy.

The first of school is all about the new year, new hope, and promise of great things. There’s so much planning to do and a schedule to remember.

Plus getting back into the routines. This year I am attempting to turn off the television by nine to read and go to sleep earlier.

Two Writing Teachers are sharing slices HERE.

This entry was posted in school, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLSC: School Beginnings

  1. Amy Rudd says:

    Kindergarteners do need a lot of routine teaching…I read Ruth Ayers post about teaching routines
    http://www.ruthayreswrites.com/2013/09/dont-let-establishing-routines.html “readers and writers shouldn’t be sacrificed in the name of establishing routines and procedures” -we just have to find the right balance. Thanks for being a Kindergarten teacher, it’s not a job for the faint of heart!

  2. Linda Baie says:

    I’ve never heard of the twiddling the thumbs, but I can see it might work. I used to have my students sketch while they listened to the read aloud if they wished. They liked doing it, & I think it was calming (middle school). They are little aren’t they? I’ve seen some of the new ones in our school-as you wrote – oh my!

Comments are closed.