SOLSC: First Family Library Night of the Year

20130924-210253.jpg

Today is the first of the monthly Family Library Nights. Boy howdy, I don’t know if it’s the “Bingo and Books” activity or the information about how to sign up for affordable health care but we have at least 21 families attending.
image

I love these monthly events with my families at my school. This is the sixth year since I began this venture with the school community. It gives me a different way to connect with families. What makes it work?

If you offer food, they will come. We order pizza and have water for purchase between 5:30-6:00. I have discovered that pre-ordering the pizza helps to determine how many will be attending.

image

Prizes! Playing for BINGO for books has been a winner! There is something universal about wanting to play BINGO.

Other events for the year include math game nights, a night to celebrate Dr. Suess, a poetry in your pocket evening, and the annual book fair.

Other slices can be found at Two Writing Teachers(http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/). Welcome Dana, Tara, Anna, Betsy, and Beth as co-authors to TWT.

This entry was posted in Family, school, Slice of Life Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOLSC: First Family Library Night of the Year

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Again, sounds wonderful, Christy. Can you explain sometime how you do Bingo for books?

    • Linda Baie says:

      I think what gets me mixed up each time is that your name on the linking is macrush & Christy’s name is Rush, so I read & think it’s her. Sorry, Jone, & I do want to hear about the Books for Bingo!

  2. Cathy says:

    Monthly library nights are a great idea. I’m sure families appreciate the opportunity to visit. How can they resist food, prizes, and books?

  3. janemartyn says:

    Libraries really do have the best events- sounds like your library is no exception!

Comments are closed.