SOLSC: Learning Curve

20131021-212539.jpg

Learning Curve

For the last ten years our school has partnered with the local public library and the ESD district to host ‘Read and Play’, a PreK story time for families and young ones. It was help in our school’s community room. In June the funding ran out.

So as the school year began, it was suggested that Melanie, Family and Community Resource Room Coordinator, and I take one the PreK story hour.

Gulp! The last time I taught PreK was in 1974 for maybe two weeks before heading back to Portland for teaching interviews. Our first story time was last Wednesday. We had four families attend.

I have a lot to learn:

Read two books instead of one.
Read with great expression. I mean with even more expression than I read for kindergarten. My assistant told me I sounded very nervous. And I admit I was very nervous.
Have a warm up time with songs and riddles (Use props. I have to create a squirrel for this week).
Relax and have fun.

Today Melanie and I sat down to plan. We looked over songs and found the bubble song to sing this week. Melanie is bringing in bubbles. We started to sing and laugh. It’s going to be fun. I feel I should video this week and a week in the future to see growth as a teacher. It’s going to be a good year.

Two Writing Teachers have more slices.

This entry was posted in Reflection, school, Slice of Life Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to SOLSC: Learning Curve

  1. This will be a wonderful adventure… Video- yes, document it 🙂

  2. Jaana says:

    You should totally video tape! It would be fun to see what changes in a few weeks and months.

  3. Leigh Anne says:

    Why does it seem like the important things are the ones that lose funding? I love that age and actually taught pre-school for 8 weeks several years ago. Let’s just say right now I am thankful for my 4th graders!

  4. dmayr says:

    Hi Jone! You’ll do fine. Pretend the parents are bigger kids and involve them, too. I did story hours for 3-6 year-olds for about a dozen years. I generally didn’t use props, but what I did use were fingerplays and action rhymes. Do a search on “fingerplays” or “action rhymes” and you’ll find more than enough to get you started. I wrote them out on 3×5 cards. After a few times you won’t need the cards, but it’s good to have them.

    And lots of songs.

    For that age, repetition is good. Repeat the songs/fingerplays over several weeks and they will learn them and be able to say them along with you. It is not necessary to knock yourself out finding something new each week.

    There was one prop that was as simple as can be and was always a big hit–a popsicle stick with a red circle on one side and a green one on the other. The kids have to pay attention. Turn the green “go” side toward them and they clap. When you turn it to red, they stop. Easy-peasy, but they think it’s a riot.

  5. I love reading about this! Last week I sliced about the new Tot Bop at our local library. Though I did not write as much about the leader, I was marveling at the way she set it all up during the time. It is evident that she has had a lot of experience (years – I think) with doing the weekly storytime for the older range (similar to what you are doing).

    I can relate to your initial experience. I know that if I was doing it, I would be nervous. It would not look like what I admire so much in our leader – not the first times at least. Your reflections and excitement already hint at the vision for what will be. I am glad for your community that you will help to carry on with this important experience for the community.

  6. Tara Smith says:

    As Linda said, you are a brave soul. It takes such patience and energy to read to this age group. Good luck!

    • macrush53 says:

      It’s the parents that scare me. It’s partly because it’s new and they are new to attending. I know it will get better. Thanks.

  7. Carol says:

    Jone,
    Your post made me laugh! I love the little ones at our school, and I love reading to them, but our conversations always seem a little like herding cats, and I always leave wondering, “How did we go there?” Good luck with the squirrel puppet! Do you have an independent toy store that would be willing to partner with you in providing the props?

    • macrush53 says:

      Oh, no puppets just a squirrel on a popsicle stick. It is like herding cats which I would like better is the moms weren’t there. Thanks.

  8. Michelle H says:

    Relax and have fun! Advice that works for so many parts of our lives. Enjoy yourself and please video! I’d love to see the bubbles & the bubble song.

  9. Linda Baie says:

    You are a brave soul (gulp)! I love reading to my 4 year old granddaughter and her 2 year old sister, but a whole group is way more challenging. And you need to make a squirrel, too! I hope you can find a puppet ‘how-to’ somewhere. Would be fun! It’s sad you lost the funding, though.

Comments are closed.