SOLSC: The Thankful Month

20131104-211554.jpg
My dad didn’t like November. It was the month in which his father died. It was the month my mom pregnant with my brother contracted polio. (Luckily it was non-paralytic and my brother arrived safe.

Me? I like this month. I like that the days are getting shorter (only because I know that the days will lengthen next month) and I love that to combat the dark, we put lights up outside. November reminds me of the lines from Leonard Cohen’s ‘Anthem’:

Ring the bells that still can ring
Forget your perfect offering
There is a crack in everything
That’s how the light gets in.

It’s a time for thankfulness each day. Today I am thankful for
-my writing group meeting tonight
-to witness a procession of respect for a fallen police office on my way home.
– the dads who brought their kids to the Dads and Donuts event for the book fair.
– November rain

Two Writing Teachers have more slices.

This entry was posted in Family, Reflection, Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to SOLSC: The Thankful Month

  1. The idea of lights in November is such a great one. Thank you so much for sharing the great things….I love and look forward to Thanksgiving….living with gratitude, it makes for happy hearts. xo

  2. It’s hard to be thankful when your heart hurts, isn’t it?

    BTW: Do you know why the SOLSC is in March? It was the month I lost my grandfather (three months before my Bat Mitzvah made it an added sting). For years March was so sad to me so in 2008 the SOLSC was born in MARCH. What a glorious month it is NOW.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    That Leonard Cohen song is my own personal anthem…loved that quote. Welcome, November!

  4. Dana Murphy says:

    Beautiful words. I love the image, the notion, of us putting lights up because the days are shorter. It’s beautiful. I’m starting to like November. I never did before, but this year for some reason, I’m finding it really pretty. I’ll remember your Slice often this month.

  5. elsie says:

    It’s nice to be able to take the time and reflect on what we are grateful for this month. This is something I need to keep in mind all year long. We live in a great country that gives us opportunities for so many things.

  6. Linda Baie says:

    It’s a lovely post, Jone, good to see that although your dad didn’t like November, you have more than one reason to love it. Interesting how one thing can color our perceptions of a month for the rest of our lives. I love the Cohen lines, do not know them! Thank you!

  7. Really like the quote from Leonard Cohen’s Anthem. It is a good reminder to find and be thankful for the beauty that lies in the imperfection of life.

    Bernadette
    http://haddonmusings.com

  8. Jaana says:

    I think I like November more now than when I was a child. Perhaps it is Thanksgiving that reminds me to be thankful as well. Your post this morning served me as a gentle reminder to voice my thankfulness and live in gratitude. This morning I am thankful for a little extra sleep, and grades that are just about done (it’s report card time).

  9. It’s funny because my dad loved November. He’s been gone almost seven years now (that’s hard to believe) and I feel closer to him in November. His birthday was in November and Thanksgiving was his favorite holiday. So, I share your love for November. I’m thankful for your post! Thank you for sharing!

Comments are closed.