SOLSC: Wake Up and Excercise

20131104-211554.jpg

I am thankful to share slices of my life with Two Writing Teachers (http://twowritingteachers.wordpress.com/) each week.

Yesterday morning I woke up and knew I had to do something. I had to research the Curves locations near me and sign up. I use to belong to Curves. In fact, I had recorded more than 950 work outs up until the time I quit my membership last January.

I quit at the beginning of the year. I Lack of motivation.. I know that seems counter intuitive. Isn’t January the month of resolutions and new exercise programs?
For a moment my husband thought he’d want to join a club so we could work out together. It never happened.

Then I thought I would walk before school, at lunch and on weekends. It rains A LOT in the northwest. So that didn’t pan out in a consistent way.

I could feel the cholesterol rising and the fat cells growing.

Groupon provided me with a 30 day pass to a Bikram Yoga studio (which I LOVE, call me crazy) but it’s 90 minutes and do I really have 90 minutes two-three times a week. That will need to be for when I win the lottery or retire in a few years. Probably retirement will win.

Summer came and I finally, finally was able to walk almost every day for a one or two miles with the dog. He loves to walk. It was a pretty rain free summer.

And then it was August, school, and September. Promises that I would get up and walk before school as the days shorten, the rain returned. I got a mini- trampoline. That worked for awhile.

But yesterday I woke up and I knew I had to return to what was successful: Curves. I love getting up in the morning and working out with women for thirty minutes. Luckily there are two clubs the same distance from my house. The one I left and a new one. I chose the new one. I realized that part of my discontent was due to the fact that my old club sold and the new owner was not the former.

Today I woke up and exercised. The new club is energetic and motivating. I need that. To walk in and be greeted with warmth and laughter was fabulous. Those cholesterol levels don’t stand a chance.

This entry was posted in Slice of Life Challenge, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SOLSC: Wake Up and Excercise

  1. Ramona says:

    My Curves shut down several years ago, and I still miss it. It was on my path to home after school. I’m glad you decided to try out the other one. Energy, warmth, motivation, and laughter…just what you need!

  2. Jaana says:

    Exercise has kept me moving this fall. I even wrote a post last week! I feel more energized! Here is to moving even when the days are getting shorter and shorter.

  3. Linda Baie says:

    Jone, when my husband was going downhill I couldn’t leave him, so when he came home, I had to also, so quit going to Curves. I loved it, and now you’ve motivated me to find one near my new home. It is just right; I felt good & didn’t have to think about it, just do it! Good for you for going again! I’ll try to touch base with you to see how it’s going and to tell you I’ve found one! Thanks so much!

  4. Kate Schwarz says:

    Good job! 40 days. Let 40 days be your goal–that’s how long it takes to change a habit. You can do it!

  5. I am with you as I climb back on the exercise train, too. I tell myself just do it and I always feel better. It is so important to go with what works. Yay you!

Comments are closed.