SOL: Excited for This

20140428-200233.jpg6a00d83451af1569e201a511b6d61f970c-450wiIt’s Tuesday and time to share a SOL with Two Writing Teachers.
I can’t believe I missed last week. It just one of those weeks.  Happy to say, I turned in my evidence for my evaluation yesterday (we use an adapted Danielson Rubric).

I am even happier to see the announce about the Eighth Annual KidLitCon in October at Sacramento, CA.  I remember the first one; how my husband and I took a red-eye to Chicago, saw a Darwin exhibit at the Field House and then immersed myself in the goodness of all things blogging. Then we boarded an early morning flight and headed home.  Talk about a whirlwind weekend.  Oh, and somehow my hand raised to host Portland for the second year and Laini Taylor agreed to co-host.

The second conference was a lot of work but fun.  It’s where I met more of the Portland writing community and made some good friends.  Since then, I haven’t been able to go. You know, life and such.

But this year, I think I will actually be able to attend.Husband has signed on to drive from Portland to Sacramento. (We love road trips).

What a terrific theme: Blogging Diversity in Young Adult and Children’s Lit: What’s Next?  With discussions about the need for more diversity in publishing ( #WeNeedDiverseBooks campaign), this year’s KidLitCon couldn’t be more timely.

Plus the keynote?  Mitali Perkins. Woohoo, I can’t wait.  She did a Skype visit a couple of years ago for her book, BAMBOO PEOPLE.

I am thinking about a proposal for the KidLitCon that incorporates poetry, diversity, and blogging.  If interested, email me.

BTW, Mother Reader’s 48-Hour Book Challenge at MotherReader will be on reading diverse books. That’s June 6-8, 2014.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in 48 HR. RDG. Challenge, Poetry, SOLSC2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOL: Excited for This

  1. Linda Baie says:

    Sounds like a wonderful time, Jone. So glad it’s near enough for your road trip!

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Your enthusiasm is contagious! I’d love to be in on the proposal….

  3. arjeha says:

    Sounds like this will be a great conference. I like the theme. Look forward to hearing about it. October seems so far away but in reality isn’t.

Comments are closed.