SOL14: The Book Thief

20140527-212009.jpg
It’s Tuesday. Time to share a slice of life at Two Writing Teachers.
I finished The Book Thief by Marcus Zusack last night. It was a book club choice for April (and then we didn’t meet).

I had difficulty getting into the book. It surprised me that I did. As a child and teen, I read Anne Frank, Milan 18 by Leon Uris, and Treblinka by Jean-Francois Steiner. I was fascinated by World War II. The idea that death was the narrator just creeped me out.

I stuck with it and boy am I glad I did. What a compelling story. And the language was evocative. Some lines:

“The sky was the color of Jews.”
“There were stars. They burned my eyes.”
“Hair the color of lemons.”

These are only a few.

It’s the kind of book that I am reticent to share my reaction too much. For me, knowing that someone cried over a book often sets it up so that I don’t cry. I want the surprise and mystery of a book to unfold.

That said, there was a lot of unfolding in this book. It’s one I will need to reread one day.

And yes, I will see the movie now because I am always curious how a book gets transformed into a movie. It’s an art. The book will always trump the movie but I love seeing the vision that film people have when the create the visual adaptation of a book.

This entry was posted in Books, SOLSC2014 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOL14: The Book Thief

  1. Linda Baie says:

    I need to re-read now, read it when it first came out, & remember loving the idea that some non-Jews were helping. I always worry about that part. How can people stand by & allow bad things to happen. I know that some did help, but if everyone had, wouldn’t it have been different? Glad you made it through the book!

  2. Wilcox Carol says:

    I got about two thirds of the way through this book right before my mom got sick, then had to put it down, I just needed something lighter. You make me want to go back to it this summer!

  3. Janet F. says:

    I am in the midst of this, Jone. I will write again once I have gotten farther and done. Have you read The Endless Steppe by Esther Hautzig? A memoir and one I read so many times to my 5th graders. Talk about courage, resilience, history. I even got to meet her once at a Reading Council dinner. If you can get a copy, I recommend it highly.

  4. Tara Smith says:

    Loved this book – and I love what it makes our kids think when they read it – great choice for thoughtful book clubs.

Comments are closed.