SOLSC14: Thoughts During an MRI

20140701-194313.jpg</

Time for a little slice of life. More are shared at Two Writing Teachers.

Last night, thanks to the advocacy of my doctor and her assistant, I had an MRI of my left shoulder. I have dealt with shoulder pain since Febraurary. I suspect from moving too many books at a time when I was re-arranging library shelves and from possibly doing planks (I was proud of myself but I wonder if my form was correct). In March, I had a round of prednisone and April, I agreed to physical therapy.

But here it is, the beginning of July and there has been no significant change, thus the MRI before the holiday weekend.

Have you been in the tube of the technology that can scan and see your insides? It’s like fitting into a lipstick tube. I am glad that being enclosed in close spaces isn’t an issue for me.

Last night, my shoulder was outfitted with a lovely cup and then my left arm Velcro strapped to my side. My right hand was given a panic button. I selected spa music to listen to while the dull pinging of the magnetic resonance did the mapping.

After being instructed to breathe shallow, we began. In between mapping segments, I was allowed to breathe deep.

This inside of the tube is ice blue. It made me wonder if the blue for it’s calming properties. Then I wondered what if there were scenes that changed during the procedure if that would help people to relax.

I could have fallen asleep in the metal cocoon until the position of the shoulder and arm started to pinch. So I began with saying the alphabet backwards in my head for distraction; the pinching continued. Soon time for some big deep breaths. The pinching wasn’t diminishing but increasing. I started guessing how long four minutes would last as the machine was mapping in four and two minute segments.

You are supposed to be still. I found that I was slightly ever so slightly moving my big toes. Pinch. Pinch. Pinch. In the shoulder and now the elbow. I tried peaceful recitations in my head. At one point, I wondered if I’d have to use the panic button. Then I heard, “Great, we are all done.”

I was glad to be released. My shoulder was glad to be released( I was painful the rest of the evening).

Hopefully, I will hear before the holiday weekend in order to figure out our next steps.

This entry was posted in SOLSC2014, Summer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SOLSC14: Thoughts During an MRI

  1. I haven’t had to do this but have seen it depicted before. This is such a perfect word picture, “It’s like fitting into a lipstick tube. ” and is exactly as I imagined it would be. I hope this experience leads to discovery of the problem and a quick resolution.

  2. Tara Smith says:

    Yes, keep us posted. Hopefully, you will have answers (and relief) soon!

  3. Keep us posted. Hope you get definitive treatment soon. I had a similar problem. It was calcium deposits. It was an easy surgery and quick recovery.

  4. Wilcox Carol says:

    Yikes! This sounds kind of scary. Hopefully they will figure out why your shoulder hurts and get you on the road to recovery.

Comments are closed.