SOLSC 2014: What Do You Need for a Good Writing Day?

IMG_0785.JPG

Tuesday. Time for a slice of life. Thanks to the incredible people at Two Writing Teachers for a place to share.

Monday was a day to work on my manuscript. I have been away from it all summer until last week when my critique group met (my home group).

I have know for awhile that my beginning needed a change. A dramatic change. I had an idea and last week my critique group confirmed I was on the right track.

As I worked on the manuscript, I started noticing how I write. There are things, I need to do before settling into work.

Like making sure I am caught up on my email. Today that led me to notes from a critique partner which helped the revision. In particular, it led me to research more about pinball machines. (This figures into the book).

Another email was a discussion with another friend on worked and didn’t work for a novel in verse book we just both read. It made me think through my character.

I need to have dark chocolate around. This is important.

This revision also led me to researching blue butterflies as I wanted to compare the color of a house to a blue butterfly.

I am currently reading, Donalyn Miller’s Reading in the Wild. As I wrote and revised, I reflected on how Miller observed her daughter’s reading habits. As she stated in her book that at first glance, it may look like her daughter’s not focused but actually everything she’s engaged with is connected to her reading and writing. That’s like me. I may look like I am unfocused but in reality it’s all connected.

I finished late in the afternoon and was pleased with what I accomplished.

Revision is messy work. I have to admit that I’ve been terrified to tear the beginning apart due to the domino effect. But it’s all good.

This entry was posted in Reflection, Revision, SOLSC2014 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SOLSC 2014: What Do You Need for a Good Writing Day?

  1. Beth says:

    It sounds like you had a productive day! I love that you carved the writing time out and made it happen! All accomplishments to celebrate!

  2. margaretsmn says:

    Revision can really be fun. I love revising poems. I can spend a long time on one word or line. I also do better with chocolate around.

  3. Tara Smith says:

    Loved reading through your process, Jone – we ALL struggle with revision, a fact that I continually remind my sixth graders. You kept at it – bravo!

  4. Linda Baie says:

    “All quite good” sounds very good indeed, Jone. I like hearing about your process, and wish you well in that coming revision workshop. I’m starting an online poetry workshop tomorrow, and will then end up at a Highlights workshop at the end of the month. I hope I can fit everything in! Time is always the issue!

Comments are closed.