SOLSC 2014: Time to Read

IMG_0785.JPG
It’s Tuesday. Time to share a slice at Two Writing Teachers.

This coming Sunday is my book club. We re reading The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown. It’s the story of the 1936 eight oar rowing team from the University of Washington. It’s an interesting read when I get to sit down and read.

My challenge has been reading time over the last two weeks! It seems like every night has been filled with meetings. And last weekend was crazy busy with events that were dear to me but oh to have time to read. I feel like I am running a marathon to find a few minutes to read a page to two.

Then I remember what Donalyn Miller in Reading in the Wild about having your book with you. It’s then I am glad for the Kindle app on my phone because I can read brown’s book. I’m not one for ereaders but in situations where I want to grab a few minutes, the Kindle is perfect.

How do you find time to read? How do you sneak it in?

This entry was posted in Books, Reflection, SOLSC2014 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOLSC 2014: Time to Read

  1. Ramona says:

    Trying to finish Boys in the Boat for my google chat book club with two good friends who’ve moved away. We never have a specific date, but I’ve been give a two week deadline since everyone else has finished it.

  2. Linda Baie says:

    It’s always a challenge. I carry my book with me, as you mentioned, to read a few pages when I can. Mostly though, I read late evenings. I have The Boys In The Boat-want to read soon.

Comments are closed.