SOL15: in Which I Ditch a Book

IMG_0785
Thanks to Two Writing Teachers for providing a place to share our slices.

It’s not been the best year for me with my book club. I’ve either missed the meeting or haven’t finished the book. I hate not finishing a book. And usually it’s not because I didn’t care for the book.

But this month’s book is The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. And I can’t get into it. Like the premise: a precocious young girl finds a dead man in the garden and then sets out to prove her father’s innocence. But something’s missing and I am not drawn into the story. So I am going to abandon it. And I am going to be okay doing so. This is not how I read usually. In fact as I write this, I am sort of planning how to get my wanted reading read so I can slog through the book some more before book club.

Don’t we tell young readers to give it fifty pages? I’ve done that but it’s difficult to follow my own advice.

Right now I am into reading novels in verse. I am about finished with Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson. Then I have the Newbery winner, The Crossover, written by Kwame Alexander to read up next.

It’s where I am in my reading life at this point in time. This year I feel immersed in children’s books more so that adult books. Being current is super important in order to recommend books to students. And honestly, lately the adult books seem a bit blah.

So if you have a good adult book suggestion, let me know. Happy slicing.

This entry was posted in Books, SOL15, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SOL15: in Which I Ditch a Book

  1. Ramona says:

    Just finished The Family by David Laskin for my book club. They choose a lot of NF which I usually don’t enjoy, but this one was different for me. I felt like I was learning so much and enjoying the stories of one family. At the same time I’ve been listening to The Family Romanov on audio. Now I’m reading Code Name Verity, like you I love reading kid books. Loved The Ghosts of Tupelo Landing, a sequel to Three Times Lucky.

  2. I love books in verse! As far as adult books go, I am reading Sycamore Row by John Grishman. It’s keeping me engaged and has several good themes developing so far. Other books I have enjoyed and would like to share with my students are A Long Walk to Water, Paperboy, and Home of the Brave. Happy Reading! 🙂

  3. I love books in verse! As far as adult books goes, I am reading Sycamore Row by John Grishman. It’s keeping me engaged and has several good themes developing so far. Other books I have enjoyed and would like to share with my students are A Long Walk to Water, Paperboy, and Home of the Brave. Happy Reading! 🙂

  4. I have read many “adult” books lately and few have left me wishing they weren’t over. I did read All the Light We Cannot See that Linda mentioned and it was very good. And a simple read called The Pecan Man made me so appreciate the narrator’s honesty and also made me stop and think about my own life. I also love reading children’s literature. Sometimes I think the deepest thoughts can come in the fewest words, and you find that more in YA books.

  5. Linda Baie says:

    I have so much to do besides reading that I can’t “not” abandon when a book doesn’t work for me. I know what you mean, Jone. Sometimes I feel guilty not giving the “full” read. The latest adult book I really want to read is Doerr’s All The Light We Cannnot See-so many good reviews, but my latest adult read I loved was The Little Bookstore of Big Stone Gap, about opening a used bookstore-memoir. Truly for the book lovers and dreamers everywhere! Enjoy The Crossover-I loved it!

Comments are closed.