SOLSC 2015 Day 7: Forward…MarCH Challenge

Find many more slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Over at My Juicy Little Universe, Heidi has complied words ending in CH as poem prompts for March. It’s been on my “to do” list. And the words are for Monday-Friday so I can catch up a bit.

Friday’s word was “fetch”.

FETCH

On sunny days the dog
and I race
to the park a few blocks
away.

I throw a ratty tennis ball.
He fetches
until the slobber slimed ball
is dropped
at my feet. His tongue hangs
out tired.

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SOLSC 2015 Day 7: Forward…MarCH Challenge

  1. margaretsmn says:

    My dog, Charlie will play with his ball 24/7. Have you seen Kay Ryan’s poem about fetching? Found it for you: http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2009/08/10/fools-errands

  2. Tara Smith says:

    This is my Sophie – she, too loves “fetch”.

  3. kdoele says:

    And they are so happy playing fetch that we don’t think a thing of picking up ” the slobber slimmed ball” again and again for them. I love this ….probably because I live it too.

  4. What would we do without our beloved dogs?

  5. jhaworthoy says:

    Nice…I can picture your dog standing there…tongue hanging out…probably hoping that that was the last fetch for the day. This made me smile.

  6. Samantha Marquardt says:

    A great commentary to anyone who throws nasty tennis balls for dogs they love. 🙂

Comments are closed.