National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Jellyfish

IMG_1077-0

Poetry Friday is at Laura Purdie Salas’ blog, Writing the World for Kids. Jama Rattigan has a list of kids’ lit National Poetry Month projects and celebrations at Alphabet Soup.

Visit Author Amok where I am guest blogging. Laura has a fabulous hand knitted scarf to giveaway.

Today’s word: JELLYFISH 

Definitionfree-swimming marine animals consisting of a gelatinous umbrella-shaped bell and trailing tentacles. 

I discovered a new poem form, the minute, from Amy Baskin:

*If you’re curious, a minute poem is a strict form that consists of 12 rhyming lines of 60 syllables, written in iambic meter. It has three stanzas with 8,4,4,4 syllables and the rhyme scheme is aabb ccdd eeff.”

Jellyfish

Floating creatures the jellyfish
One common dish-
Jellyfish bells,
Taste treat that sells

Passive drifters known as smack
They won’t attack
tentacles trail
Just like a veil

Undulating umbrellas
Ocean dwellers
Silent swimmers
Jellies glimmer

© 2015 Jone Rush MacCulloch all rights reserved

 

Information for Jellyfish can be found at New World Encylopedia

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to National Poetry Month: The “LL” Challenge: Jellyfish

  1. JELLYFISH QUESTION
    O Jellyfish!
    Parachuted,
    Stringy spined,
    Illuminated marvel.
    Why must you inject
    Venom into those
    Who marvel at your
    Beauty?

    (c) Charles Waters 2015 all rights reserved.

  2. Catmere says:

    I’m thinking a minute poem could never be written in a minute. That’s a lot of rules. Thanks for sharing your poem about jellyfish. I really enjoyed the rhythm of your last stanza.

    Cathy

  3. Wow. That is a demanding form! Lovely job–especial “jellies glimmer.” I shared a rhyming jellyfish poem on my blog once, but it wasn’t nearly as complicated to do!

  4. Thanks for sharing, Jone! I’ll have to think about this form and come up with something!

  5. Carol says:

    I have never heard of a minute poem. Thinking I might like to try it! It’s fun to read your poem and Mary Lee’s next to each other.

  6. Linda Baie says:

    They may not attack, but if they choose to come close, watch out! I love that ‘undulating umbrellas’, Jone

  7. cvarsalona says:

    Jone, this minute poem has an interesting format that you accomplished with ease.

  8. Amy Baskin says:

    Gorgeous, Jone! I love the way you’ve used the minute poem form to give shape to jellys!

  9. Oh, I’ve been stung by one, wrapped and strung with legs a glitter and a glow. Your poem brought it all back, but my emotions are back on track. LOL

  10. maryleehahn says:

    Lovely! I especially like your last stanza.

    I have a dejected jellyfish for today’s cross-poLLination poem!
    http://readingyear.blogspot.com/2015/04/po-emotion-dejection.html

Comments are closed.