SOL15: What I Discovered from National Poetry Month

  

It’s Tuesday, time to share slices at Two Writing Teachers.

Last month, I held my first ever 30 Day poetry challenge around a theme. In the past, I have written a poem a day but this year, I decided to step it up. My theme, “Double LL”.

 

Here’s some things I discovered:
~creating a list before the month was  helpful as was setting up the template for the thirty days.

~researching the words was a blast. I found that the research informed how I would approach the poem.

~some words demanded a certain form.

~being able to prepare posts ahead is preferable than writing on the fly.

~connecting with community inspires.

~I liked engaging others with the words.

~wonder how to engage students into writing a poem a day next year.

~am thinking about the words for next year.

Congratulations to Carol Wilcox. She was selected to get a copy of The Poetry Friday for Celebrations. 

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SOL15: What I Discovered from National Poetry Month

  1. Ramona says:

    Loved reading your poems last month. Such interesting words! Preparing posts ahead is not a skill I’ve figured out. Since I have to sub during our state testing tomorrow, I’m glancing over slices from last week in search of an idea.

  2. Carol Wilcox says:

    Oh my gosh! Early Wednesday morning and I’m reading everyone who posted after my post last night, and I discover I WON! Woo Hoo! I have been wanting that book! So excited Thank you! I loved your LL poems. You had some beauties and I’m thinking you have a book waiting to be published! I’d love to hear more about your process- how you chose the words, when you did write (as one who wrote on the fly I’d love to hear more about people’s process, etc. Thanks again!

Comments are closed.